My fascination for guitar began when I was a child attending kindergarten in Vienna, where I would admire the skill of my kindergarten teacher as she played guitar and sang. Possibly, this planted the very first seed for what was to become a career choice in music and teaching.

A few years later, at the age of12, the rock band KISS irrevocably ushered me into the world of music. This major musical influence not only chaperoned my adolescence but also left its mark in my musical work many years later.

I discovered the blues during my time as an industrial apprentice. I was 16 years old when I first picked up a guitar.

Influenced primarily by such guitarists as John Mayall, Eric Clapton, and Mark Knopfler, I played rock & blues music until one day I watched a video clip featuring the American guitarist Stanley Jordan performing a jazz piece using the unusual “tapping” technique.
Little did I know how deeply this technique would change the way I played guitar, and it was from this moment on that I became hooked on jazz music.

Next to the profession I trained in, I played in bands I founded myself for many years until I finally left Austria for two years to study music at Berklee College of Music in Boston.

Captivated by the sound of modern jazz guitar music, I took private classes with various teachers, including guitarists Joe Diorio and John Abercrombie. Upon my return to Vienna, I graduated from the University of Music and Arts in Graz where I majored in jazz guitar.

During jam sessions in various Viennese clubs, I developed an affinity for Brazil and had the pleasure of being invited to play concerts in Fortaleza, Brazil, two summers long. During this time, Ernst Ritsch, who studied guitar with me, founded the Vienna Music Institute, a pop/jazz academy of music, where I have been teaching since Spring 2000, in addition to my teaching at the Association of Music in the Upper Waldviertel.

The Millennium brought a turning point in my career as an artist. I launched the pop/jazz project “Camena”, featuring me on guitar and for which I authored both the music and lyrics.


Together, my duo partner Anne-Maria Höller and I published the first album Camena “servant of my soul” (2001).This was then followed by a series of concerts, first in a duo formation with just the two of us and finally in a trio which included the percussionist Farid Al-Shami.

Aside from the live performances with Camena, I found myself breaking new musical ground elsewhere: As a consequence, I was booked for the contemporary theater/opera productionsNeue Oper Wien “The Little Match Girl” (2003), “The Threepenny Opera” (2004), “The Seven Deadly Sins” (2005) and “The Knot Garden” (2005) featuring as guitar and banjo player.

Influenced by the world of theatre, new songs were born, resulting in the release of the second album “camena to the fallen” (2005).
This time I invited a select crew of guest musicians and vocalists, including New York jazz singer, Dean Bowman, Broadway Musical singer, Drew Sarich, the Viennese bass player, Volker Wadauerand the Swiss avant-garde cellist, Clementine Gasser to participate in the album’s production.

Aside from Dean Bowman, the line-up for the live concerts that follow (including Stadtfest Wien, Ö1 Bühne am Donauinselfest, Porgy & Bess, Joe Zawinul’s Birdland, etc.), feature such performers as jazz/soul vocalist Patrizia Ferrara and English rock/musical singer Rob Fowler.

As part of a professional continuing education I postgraduated in summer 2013 following a three-year PhD - doctorate study at the Institute for Jazz Research at the Art University Graz/Austria.
My thesis explores austrian jazz guitarist Karl Ratzer´s characteristic musical content or qualitative musical features and individual method of learning and playing.

Currently, I am working on new pieces for a planned guitar solo album.

Die Faszination für die Gitarre beginnt in den frühen Jahren im Wiener Kindergarten, wo ich meine Kindergartentante beim Spielen und Singen bewundern kann. Hier wird möglicherweise ein wichtiger Grundstein für meinen musikalischen/pädagogischen Weg gelegt.

Einige Jahre später, im Alter von 12 Jahren, werden die Tore in die Welt der Musik durch die Rockband KISS unwiderruflich geöffnet. Dieser wichtige musikalische Einfluss, begleitet mich nicht nur durch meine Adoleszenz, sondern schlägt sich auch viele Jahre später in meiner musikalischen Arbeit nieder.

In der Zeit der Lehre als Industriekaufmann entdecke ich den Blues und ich bin 16 Jahre alt, als ich den ersten Griff zur Gitarre wage.

Vorerst beeinflusst durch Gitarristen wie John Mayall, Eric Clapton, Mark Knopfler spiele ich Rock & Blues Musik, bis ich eines Tages im TV einen Videoclip des amerikanischen Gitarristen Stanley Jordan sehe, welcher ein Jazzstück mit der ungewöhnlichen „tapping“ Technik interpretiert.
Nicht wissend, dass diese Technik fast 20 Jahre später mein Spiel maßgeblich verändern sollte, bin ich ab dieser Zeit von Jazz Musik gefangen.

Neben meinem erlernten Hauptberuf spiele ich jahrelang in meist selbst formierten Bands bis ich schließlich für zwei Jahre meine Heimat verlasse um am Berklee College of Music in Boston Musik zu studieren.

Vom Klang des modernen Jazz Gitarrespiels verzaubert, nehme ich Privatunterricht u.a. bei den Gitarristen Joe Diorio und John Abercrombie und setze mein Jazz Gitarre Studium an der Hochschule für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Graz fort um dort schließlich als Mag. Art. zu graduieren.

Bei „Jam Sessions“ in den Wiener Clubs schließe ich Freundschaft mit Brasilien und habe das Vergnügen für zwei Sommer zu Konzertreihen nach Fortaleza in Brasilien eingeladen zu werden. Mein Studienkollege Ernst Ritsch gründet währenddessen das VMI-Vienna Music Institute (www.vmi.at), ein Konservatorium mit Öffentlichkeitsrecht für Jazz- und Popularmusik, an dem ich, neben meiner Lehrtätigkeit im Musikschulverband oberes Waldviertel, seit dem Frühjahr 2000 unterrichte.

Das Millennium bringt auch eine künstlerische Wende. Ich gründe das Pop/Jazz Projekt „Camena“ für welches ich sowohl Musik und Texte schreibe als auch Gitarre spiele.


Gemeinsam mit meiner Duo Partnerin Anne-Marie Höller wird das erste Album Camena „servant of my soul“ (2001) veröffentlicht. Es folgen eine Reihe von Konzerten, erst im Duo und anschließend im Trio mit dem Perkussionisten Farid Al-Shami.

Neben den Live Auftritten mit Camena bietet sich für mich die Möglichkeit ein bislang unberührtes musikalisches Terrain zu betreten. Ich werde zur Mitwirkung bei den zeitgenössischen Theater/Opernproduktionen „das Mädchen mit den Schwefelhölzern“ (2003)neue Oper Wien, „die Dreigroschenoper“ (2004), „die sieben Totsünden“ (2005) und „the knot garden“ (2005) als Gitarre- und Banjospieler engagiert.

Von der Theaterwelt berührt entstehen neue Lieder und daraus das
zweite Album „camena to the fallen“ (2005).
Diesmal lade ich eine Reihe von GastmusikerInnen und GastvocalistInnen u.a. den New Yorker Jazz Sänger Dean Bowman, Broadway Musical Sänger Drew Sarich, den Wiener Bassisten Volker Wadauer und die Schweizer Avantgarde-Cellistin Clementine Gasser für diese Produktion ein.

Bei den darauf folgenden Live Konzerten (u.a. Stadtfest Wien, Ö1 Bühne am Donauinselfest, Porgy & Bess, Joe Zawinul´s Birdland, etc.) spielen und singen neben Dean Bowman auch die Jazz/Soul Vocalistin Patrizia Ferrara und der englische Rock/Musical Sänger Rob Fowler.

Im Rahmen einer berufsbegleitenden Fortbildung promovierte ich im Sommer 2013 nach einem dreijährigen PhD -  Doktoratsstudium am Institut für Jazzforschung an der Kunstuniversität Graz (KUG).
Meine Dissertation untersucht die charakteristischen und qualitativen Inhalte in der Musik des österreichischen Jazzgitarristen Karl Ratzer sowie seinen individuellen musikalischen Lern- und Spielzugang.

Gegenwärtig arbeite ich an neuen Stücken für ein geplantes Gitarre Solo Album.